The BEST Cut-Out Sugar Cookies

november2008-086

Last week we had a cookie decorating play date. We had so much fun decorating our gingerbread people and our sugar cookies. Many cookies were “lost” during the decorating process. Our little friend M concentrated so hard on completely covering her Christmas tree cookie in yellow frosting that I don’t think she decorated that many cookies. Sasha and Penelope were more into eating the cookies than worrying about whether or not they were adequately covered in frosting.

I found my sugar cookie recipe on one of my favorite blogs (Pinch My Salt). Nicole made her recipe for Halloween cookies. She uses powdered sugar and a tiny bit of almond extract, which I believe makes these cookies the BEST COOKIES EVER! I will be using this recipe for my Christmas cookies from now on; I may even use them for my Valentine’s day cookies, St. Patrick’s day cookies, April Fool’s day cookies, and every other holiday they are THAT good. Thank-you Nicole, we now have a family favorite that I am sure is going to become a tradition. I am sure her recipe for cream cheese frosting is lovely, however I decided to use a powdered sugar frosting that would harden. You must make these cookies, at least once. ENJOY!

Check out her recipe here.

If you want to read more about our gingerbread people check it out here.

Here are some photos of our decorating.

november2008-076
Here is M concentrating so hard on her yellow Christmas tree.

november2008-0742
Sasha enjoying her hard work!

november2008-0774
Penelope ate her cookie so fast. I told you these cookies were good!

november2008-079
Here are some of our sugar cookies and gingerbread people.

november2008-089
Here is M’s cookie that she worked so hard on. More sprinkes ended up on the plate than the cookie, oh well.

2 Responses

  1. So glad you liked the cookies! We used the cookie recipe for all holiday cookies, but the cream cheese is reserved only for Halloween. For other holidays, we use a variety of other decorations, just like you guys did!

  2. I made these cookies and they were YUM! I am normally not a fan of anything other than chocolate, but I couldn’t help but hope I’d break a couple of these along the way so I’d have to eat them :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

