Spaghetti and Meatballs

dsc01070-small1.jpg

I was first introduced to this delicious dish through one of my friend Shamous. Growing up my mom never made meatballs to accompany spaghetti; instead she would just add browned burger to the sauce. This was good, but this was all I knew. My spaghetti life changed once I had a meatball. I learned how to make meatballs from him. I asked him for his recipe and it went something like this: hmm, you need bread crumbs (cracker crumbs work) the ones with Italian seasonings are great, eggs, and Parmesan cheese is nice. He didn’t know the amounts, he said he goes by feel and smell. Well thanks Shamous! My first attempt was no where near the tastiness of his, but I have been practicing and I think tonight I came up with a dang good recipe. Leftover pesto was the inspiration for these tasty meatballs.

Pesto Meatballs

2 pounds ground beef
2 eggs
1/3 c Parmesan cheese
1/3 c plain bread crumbs
4 T pesto
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Add all ingredients to large bowl, mix well with your (clean) hands, add more breadcrumbs if mixture is too wet. Hand roll into golf ball size meatballs. Place into 9X13 in. pan, bake 25 minutes. Makes 20 meatballs.

Add to your favorite sauce, and simmer for 15 minutes. The longer you simmer the better the flavor. Tonight, we enjoyed our meatballs with a linguine and thin spaghetti mixture. It was delicious. However, Schwartz is still meatball king!

One Response

  1. […] out my recipe for Pesto Meatballs if you need any other ideas for integrating pesto into your […]

Leave a Reply

