Happy New Year

2008 is here! I hope the new year is off to a great start for you. I am sorry I haven’t written in awhile, things have been busy with the holidays.

Last Thursday, January 3rd was caucus night here in Iowa. I think both the Democrats and Republicans did a great job choosing their first place candidates. To celebrate I made Chicken and Broccoli Obama Stir-Fry with Edamame Fried Rice. It was tasty! We enjoyed our dinner while watching the victory speeches. I did not measure my ingredients, so I do not have an exact working recipe. I will give rough estimates below, adjust according to your seasoning preferences. Basmati rice is the rice I chose to use for my fried rice. I enjoy the softness and flavor of Basmati rice. I hope you enjoy my political dinner!

Chicken and Broccoli Obama Stir-Fry

3 large chicken breasts-thinly sliced
Soy Sauce
Sugar
1 tsp chopped ginger
1 tsp chopped garlic
2 heads of broccoli chopped
1 c chicken broth
1 T corn starch
2 T peanut oil

Use frozen boneless/skinless chicken breasts. Set out to thaw for 30 minutes. While chicken is partially frozen, slice into thin strips. Put in dish to continue thawing. Once chicken is fully thawed, pour soy sauce over top of chicken and sprinkle with sugar. This creates a marinade, marinate for 15 minutes at room temperature. Heat wok over high heat. Pour in 1 T peanut oil. Stir-fry broccoli, garlic and ginger for 1-2 minutes, take out and set aside. Add 1 T peanut oil, add chicken and marinade (may need to work in batches) stir-fry for 2-3 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Add broccoli to chicken mixture. Mix the cornstarch and chicken broth together, pour into wok, and stir until thickened. Serve over rice.

Edamame Fried Rice

1 package pre-shelled edamame
1 tsp chopped garlic
1 tsp chopped ginger
2 c cooked/cooled Basmati rice
1 T soy sauce
2 eggs beaten
2 T peanut oil, plus a slash

Add 1 T oil to hot wok. Add edamame and stir fry until soft 2-3 minutes. Remove from wok. Add 1 T oil to wok, add garlic and ginger; stir-fry for 30 seconds. Add rice, stir-fry for 2-3 minutes. Make a well in the center of the rice, add a slash of oil and the beaten eggs. Incorporate the egg into the rice mixture. Add soy sauce and edamame and mix well. Remove from wok and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

