Homemade Sourdough Bread Bowls and Broccoli Cheese Soup

After our brief heatwave (45 degrees Fahrenheit) we had below zero wind chills. On Tuesday, we had blizzard-like conditions. The snow was falling and the wind was blowing the snow everywhere. It was perfect day for a warm comforting dinner. I read about Nicole’s sourdough starter at PinchMySalt I have never made homemade bread before and was up to the challenge. I needed to start my own sourdough starter, thus making this bread bowl adventure an all day thing. The time and effort I put into this meal was well worth it. My first attempt was a success! My favorite thing to order from Panera Bread is their broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl. I do not need Panera anymore, because I can make my own, which is just as tasty!

I found a recipe for sourdough bread starter at the Food Network’s website, I chose Emeril’s recipe to follow. For my broccoli cheese soup, I adapted a recipe from my great grandma Nona. My grandma worked with my great grandma to type all of her recipes into a cookbook, which we received for a Christmas present in 1997. I have referenced it countless times when I need some inspiration for dinner. I am looking forward to getting a cookbook of my great grandma Dorothy’s recipes… hint, hint.

BASIC SOURDOUGH STARTER
from Emeril

3 c warm water (110 degrees F)
1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
3 cups all-purpose flour

In a large bowl, combine the water, yeast, and sugar. Let sit until the yeast becomes foamy, about 5 minutes. (If the yeast does not foam, discard the mixture and begin again with a new yeast.)
Add the flour and stir vigorously to work air into the mixture. Cover with a towel let rest in a warm, draft-free place (an oven with its pilot light or light bulb turned on works well) for 8 to12 hours. (The mixture should become very bubbly.) Use immediately or cover loosely with plastic wrap and store in the refrigerator.
Preserving the Starter: Each time you remove a portion of the starter for a recipe, reserve at least 1/4 cup and replace the amount you have taken out with equal amounts of flour and water.
For example, if you remove 1 cup of starter, you must replace it with 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of warm water. Whisk these ingredients into the starter until blended but not completely smooth, cover loosely, and return to the refrigerator.
Also, the starter must be maintained by feeding it every few days. Refresh by removing 1 cup of the starter (give to a friend or discard it) and adding 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of warm water. Whisk until blended but not smooth. Cover loosely and return to the refrigerator.
If you plan to be away longer than a week, freeze the starter in a sterilized, airtight freezer container. Thaw the starter 2 days before you plan to bake with it. Refresh as indicated above with 1 cup each of flour and warm water. Cover and leave at room temperature 12 hours or overnight before using.
CAUTION: Never keep your starter tightly closed! The gasses expelled by the yeast will build up pressure and may cause the container (such as a glass jar) to burst!

I left my mixture sit for 8 1/2 hours before I began to work with it.

BASIC SOURDOUGH BREAD
from Emeril

2 cups bread flour
1 1/2 cups sourdough starter, recipe follows
3/4 teaspoon salt

In an electric mixer with the dough hook, combine the flour, starter and salt, and knead until it no longer sticks to the sides or bottom of the mixing bowl.
Place a lightly oiled bowl, turning to coat. Cover with plastic wrap and let dough rise in a warm, draft-free place until doubled in size, 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Sprinkle lightly with flour and knead gently, removing any large air bubbles. Knead into a small circle, then shape into a tight ball (for bread bowls, separate dough in half and shape into two tight balls), pinching the seams together underneath. Place on a well-floured board or baking peel, seam-side down. Cover with a kitchen towels and let rest until doubled in size, about 1 hour.


Preheat a baking stone, if available, on the bottom rack of an oven at 400 degrees F. With a sharp, serrated knife, cut a large “X” or cross-hatch pattern into the top of the dough.


Spray lightly with a mister and transfer to the baking stone (or place on a heavy baking sheet lightly dusted with cornmeal) and bake until golden brown and the bread sounds hollow when thumped on the bottom, about 60 minutes. (Sourdough should have a darker crust than other breads, so leave in the oven 5 minutes after you think it is done.)
Remove the loaf from the oven and let cool on a wire rack for at least 30 minutes before serving.

I brushed my bread bowls with melted butter when they came out of the oven.

BROCCOLI CHEESE SOUP
adapted from great grandma Nona’s recipe

1 bunch broccoli -cut up
1 1/2 c boiling water (I used 1 c chicken stock and the hot water I used to rinse out the soup cans. I filled them 1/4 of the way full and swished them around to get the excess soup out)
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1 c light cream (I had none on hand so I used whole milk)
salt & pepper to taste
8 oz cubed Velveeta
1/2c shredded carrots
1/2 c minced white onion
1 T olive oil

Sautee carrots and onion in olive oil.

Add broccoli, chicken stock, soup(and water), milk, and Velveeta. Simmer on med-lo until broccoli is tender.

Once broccoli is tender, scoop out about 1/2 of the mixture and pulse in a blender a few times. Be careful because the mixture is very hot!

Add back to the pot and stir well. Scoop out the insides of the bread bowl and reserve for dipping. Add the soup to the bread bowl and ENJOY!

39 Responses

  1. Nothing beats homemade bread and the soup looks so good too!

  2. I can’t wait to try this!!!!!!

  3. How much water do i add to the starter?

  4. Sarah: 3 c warm water (110 degrees) That part got left off. Thanks for pointing it out. This bread is delicious, I hope you enjoy it!

  5. Jamie you just became my new best friend! lol. Seriously thank you for this recipe. We have sub zero weather hitting here tomorrow and thursday..eeek! Glad to see you are surving!

    I am going to use this recipe next week and I can’t wait to try it!

    Christine

  6. Hai..
    hmmmm the brocolli cheese soup looks so good. can i use other kind of cheese?
    cheers,
    judith

  7. Hi Christine: I hope you enjoy this soup. Let me know what you think!

    Hi Judith:Thanks for visiting 😉 I found that Velveeta, or a processed cheese, melted the smoothest. You could use cheddar cheese, but I would recommend the buying it in the block form and shredding it yourself. Seems like the preshredded cheese is a little gritty. It tastes fine, just a funky texture. I hope this helps. Let me know what you use and how it works.

    Enjoy!

  8. I’m all for buying soup bowls, but hats off to you for making them from scratch! Thanks for the tips.

  9. Hi, just a tip! The yeast in your starter is supposed to come from the air-wild yeast-not from a packet –commercial yeast. You can certainly use baker’s yeast, but the whole point of sourdough is supposed to be the taste and that it’s an alternative to commercial yeast. To create a sourdough starter, do all that you mentioned in this article but do not add yeast. Just leave it out in a warm place and after a few days wild yeast in the air will take hold. If your house is too filtered there might not be wild yeast in the air, however.

    • True, starter that is begun from the “air” is the authentic sourdough starter. However, not all locations, climates, or altitudes will successfully produce a decent starter. So this method (from Emeril no less!) produces consistently good starter in a much broader range of conditions… and a LOT quicker than the “authentic” starter. True connoisseurs would notice a difference in the flavor, but for soup bowls?? This method will do just fine!

  10. How many bread bowls does your recipe fill?

  11. I want to eat soup in a bread bowl everyday!!

  12. It’s difficult to find experienced people about this subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  13. In your recipe, every time you take 1 cup of starter out of the bag, you are adding back 2 cups…1 flour, 1 water. Isn’t the bag eventually going to be REALLY REALLY full?

    • Jimmy Cracked-Corn, all you have to do is each time you feed your starter, discard (yes, down the drain discard) all but 1/2 cup of starter. Then you add 1 cup water and 1 cup flour and let proof. I know, I know, I really do hate waste too, but this step actually helps to avoid wasting flour and water. The more starter you’re feeding, the more food you have to give, because larger quantities of starter contain much larger populations of hungry organisms which want much more flour and water to eat.

  14. i make a starter with flour, water and pieces of apple – 3/4 cup water, 2 cups flour, and 1/2 cup of grated apple and this recipe comes from http://portuguesebreads.blogspot.com/2012/05/start-with-starter.html for full directions and it works here in NW Montana.

  15. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my weblog thus i got here to go back the choose?
    .I’m attempting to in finding issues to improve my website!I guess its ok to use a few of your concepts!!

  16. Hey! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you
    I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can you recommend any other
    blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same subjects?

    Thanks!

  17. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen
    in Internet explorer. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you
    know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem
    solved soon. Thanks

  18. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  19. Admiring the time and effort you put into your website
    and in depth information you offer. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  20. Thanks in support of sharing such a fastidious thinking, paragraph
    is good, thats why i have read it fully

  21. always i used to read smaller articles that also clear their motive, and
    that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am
    reading here.

  22. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for free radicals

  23. Very good post! We are linking to this particularly great post
    on our website. Keep up the good writing.

  24. Hey there I am so thrilled I found your website, I really
    found you by accident, while I was researching on Aol for something
    else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to browse it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  25. Using examples from the first page of Google
    search results for ‘Fonzworth Bentley’ (does any page beside the first even matter.
    Following the World wide web bubble burst in 2000 there are lots of alterations
    and nowadays it is not achievable just upload a fancy
    website with some data and data and assume folks to come your way.
    I found it very surprising that even among young practitioners of Islam, there is this strong belief in separation of religion from politics now.

  26. I’m very pleased to find this website. I wanted to thank you for ones time just for this wonderful read!!
    I definitely loved every part of it and I have you saved as a favorite
    to see new stuff on your website.

  27. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve presented oon your post.
    They are very convincing and will certainly work.

    Still, the posts are veery brief foor starters.
    Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

  28. This is very attention-grabbing, You are an overly professional
    blogger. I have joined your rss feed and stay up for in quest of more
    of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my
    social networks

  29. Thank you for some other informative web site. The place else may just I
    get that kind of info written in such an ideal approach?
    I have a mission that I am just now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

  30. Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much
    the same layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

  31. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your web site
    and in accession capital to claim that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Anyway I will be subscribing in your feeds and even I achievement you get entry to
    persistently fast.

  32. Thanks for any other informative web site.
    Where else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal manner?

    I have a mission that I’m simply now running on,
    and I have been at the look out for such information.

  33. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this site
    is actually pleasant and the visitors are genuinely
    sharing fastidious thoughts.

  34. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really
    well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it
    and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly return.

  35. Truly when someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other viewers that they will help, so here it occurs.

  36. I think the admin of this web page is actually working hard in favor of his web
    page, as here every information is quality based stuff.

  37. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I think that you ought to write more
    on this subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t speak about these issues.
    To the next! Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

