Homemade Biscuits

Mmm, mmm, good! Lately I have been feeling very homemakery. The other day I had a successful attempt making homemade sourdough, so I thought I would try to make homemade biscuits. I took out my great grandma’s cookbook and searched the web for a perfect recipe. What I made is a concoction from my great grandma’s recipe and suggestions that I found online.

BISCUITS

2 c AP flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 T shortening
1/2 c sour cream
1/2 c 7-UP
1/2 c butter

Preheat oven to 400 degree Fahrenheit. Melt 1/4 c butter in the bottom of a 9 in round cake pan.

Sift flour, powder and salt into a bowl. Cut in shortening, then sour cream. Add 7-UP and mix until it forms a ball (it will do this quickly). Roll out on a floured surface until 1/2 in. thick. Cut out biscuits, re-rolling and cutting the scraps.

Place biscuits in cake pan. Bake for 7 minutes. Take out, pour 1/4 c butter over top the biscuits and turn over. Bake another 7 minutes. Maked 13 biscuits.

The biscuits were served with creamed chicken over top and a side of roasted asparagus.

Leave a Reply

