Journey to Denmark

My Danish friends Heidi and Iben left me with a recipe for frikadeller when they returned to Denmark. I have Danish blood flowing through my veins, so I was happy to get their authentic recipe. I know my mom like frikadeller, her grandmother used to make them for her. My husband Alex was an exchange student to Odense, Denmark in 1999; and he enjoyed eating them. I did change the recipe slightly, providing a little more flavor the the meatball, the result was delicious. This is a quick, easy meal to make.

FRIKADELLER

1 lb ground pork
1/4 tsp onion powder (you could use minced onion)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp dried Rosemary
2 T flour
1 T milk

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat. Drop tablespoons of meat into the hot pan. Cook 5-6 minutes on each side (you will want a nice brown crunch).

We enjoyed our frikadeller with cheesy potatoes and green beans.

Leave a Reply

