Hungarian Cabbage Rolls

I had never before had cabbage rolls, nor have I ever even heard of them until I saw them featured on the dinner menu at work. I tried a bite of a roll that was left over, and it was a lot better that I thought it would be, in fact, I really liked the flavor combinations. I decided to try to tackle these rolls at home for my family.

CABBAGE ROLLS

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES F

1 large head cabbage, halved and cored
salt

Boil a large pot of water. Add salt. Drop individual cabbage leaves into the pot and boil 3-5 minutes. You will want the leaves pliable. Drain leaves and set aside.

1 T unsalted butter
1/2 T EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
1/2 c yellow onion, minced
1 clove garlic, minced (or 1 tsp garlic)

Sautee first three ingredients over medium heat until onion is soft (8-10 minutes). Add garlic and sautee for 2 minutes. DO NOT allow garlic to brown! Take off heat to cool.

In another pan over medium-low heat sautee the following for 1 minute

2 T EVOO
1 clove garlic, minced (or 1 tsp garlic)

Add and simmer 5 minutes
28 oz can crushed tomatoes

Add and simmer the following for another 5 minutes
1 1/ T white wine vinegar
1 T sugar

In a mixing bowl add the following:
1 lb ground beef
1 c cooked white rice
1 egg
2 tsp salt
cooked onion mixture

Combine well.

ASSEMBLY: Pour 1 c tomato mixture in the bottom of a greased 9 x 13 pan.

Lay out cabbage leaf, put 2 heaping spoonfulls of meat mixture on center of leaf.

Roll the leaf around the mixture.

Lay seam side down in pan. Repeat until meat mixture is gone.

Cover with remaining tomato mixture. Cover with foil, bake for 50 minutes.

4 Responses

  1. My Aunt Mary from Hungary freezes her cabbage head for 2 to 3 days; then takes the cabbage out to thaw. You can pull on those leaves like crazy and they won’t split. You must let it thaw all the way. So also you must plan ahead. It is worth it and the cabbage tastes the same … really good.

  2. Looks very much like my recipe but instead, I use brown sugar and lemon juice. I always serve with fresh cooked carrots and crusty rolls.

  3. I don’t know how, but someone reference my blog through your blog. I have a Cabbage Roll Casserole, which is all of these ingredients in a casserole, without all the work. Hope you will take a look.

    http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

    Lee

  4. I make my rolls so completely different than many of the ones that I see here. I use spinach and basmati rice with beef stock, tomato paste, stewed diced seasoned tomatoes, eggs, onions spices ect…… its such a versatile meal

Leave a Reply

