Tamales

I have always wanted to try tamales, and to be honest I used to be so intimidated to order them off a menu somewhere because I was unsure if you ate the corn husk too. I certainly know a lot more about tamales now, in fact I have made them a few times from scratch. I got this great low-fat recipe from my friend Jessie over at Little Calorie. She talks about how they are a labor of love, how right she is. Making tamales from scratch are extremely time consuming, especially if you have a 2 1/2 year old and 11 month old who want to “help” you in the kitchen. These are definatly a “plan-ahead” kind of meal; plan to spend the majority of your day making them. But what a sweet, er-savory, reward.  Remember, you DO NOT eat the corn husk! 🙂

TIP FOR FREEZING: Once the tamales are done steaming, cool, the place in a zip top bag in the fridge. The next morning take the bag out and place it in the freezer. When tamale fever strikes, reheat (with husk on) in the microwave at half power for 2 minutes, or until warmed through. ENJOY!

4 Responses

  1. Yummmmm… I love tamales. I have a family recipe that I make one time every year… Christmas time. It’s a lot of work but worth it! You tamales look delicious!

    http://www.craftyjuicebroker.etsy.com

  2. Good job. We’re adding you to our blog roll.

    And terrific pictures.
    Can we use the bottom one? (https://jamiegates.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/september2008-206.jpg)
    We’d even be willing to pay some for the rights to it. What do you think?

    Thanks and God Bless You,
    – Lee (and Sue) Harper
    http://www.TheTexasTamaleWarehouse.com

  3. Beautiful photos Jamie! With the holidays coming up, I’m sure we’ll be making more soon!

  4. I love tamales !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

