Old-Time Beef Stew

October is now here, and in the mid-west that means the thermometer greatly fluctuates from the morning to afternoon. Our weather can be quite silly. As I write this now (in the morning) the thermometer is saying it is a crisp 44 degrees F, but by noon today we are to reach temperatures in the mid 70s. With such changes in temperature my cravings change dramatically too. In the morning I am ready to bake bread and make soup all day, but soon after I have that craving the sun warms everything up and then I don’t feel like turning on the oven and heating up the house. That is where my craving for stew started, in the morning when it was still 67 degrees in my house; I was going to begin my stew after lunch. By lunch time it was a warm 77 degrees in our house and I did not feel like making stew, so I put it off to the next day.I did finally make that beef stew, and it was delicious. It is too bad the leftovers got shoved to the back of the fridge and was forgotten.

I used Paula Dean‘s recipe for Old-Time Beef Stew. I did a few things differently than she did. I chopped up my carrots, celery, onion and 2 pounds potatoes. I drizzled them with olive oil and a little salt and pepper. I roasted them at 425 degrees F for about one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

3 Responses

  1. Always my favorite at this time of year… I have a page in my recipe book for Beef Stew…looking to improve mine…thanks

    Andy
    http://www.recipebuddys.com

  2. […] gets cooler I begin to crave hearty foods, like homemade soups and breads. Awhile back I made Old-Time Beef Stew and with it I served some homemade focaccia bread. Sasha, now 2 1/2 loves to help in the kitchen, […]

Leave a Reply

