Whole Wheat Banana Sour Cream Bread

Last month I bought a five pound package of whole wheat flour, and have been wanting to use it for baking. This bread is quite dense, so the thinnest slice is very satisfying. I added a 1/2 c of chocolate chunks for a sweet surprise. Getting chocolate in your slice of bread is like winning the lottery, you may get a slice that has none or you may get the mother load. This bread makes approximately 24 slices per loaf with 148 calories per slice. Not too bad for a satisfying snack. I recommend eating this bread plain, it is so flavorful, butter or jams are not needed.

WHOLE WHEAT BANANA SOUR CREAM BREAD
3 ripe bananas, mushed
2 1/2 c whole wheat flour
1 1/4 c brown sugar
2/3 c fat free sour cream
2 eggs, beaten
1/3 c vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 c chocolate chips/chunks (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all ingredients until well incorporated. Pour into greased 9×5 loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes. Bread is cooked completely when a toothpick or knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Cool completely on wire rack before slicing (1-1 1/2 hours) ENJOY!

This recipe has been entered into the Banana Bread Bake Off. Wish me luck!

12 Responses

  1. Looks good. Banana and sour cream breads are really good. I have been wanting to try using more whole wheat flour. I will have to make more of an effort to add it the next time I bake.

  2. Mmmmm. Healthy and delicious hey!

  3. I love the idea of the moistness from the sour cream and the healthiness of the wholewheat. Virtue and vice together! 🙂

  4. […] Jamie from Jamie’s Kitchen baked a gorgeous wholewheat and sour cream Banana Bread. I love how tall her loaf is and how she has used wholewheat flour (to make it healthier) and sour cream (to make it moist) and the chocolate chips don’t go astray either! […]

  5. Yum!!! You should also enter it in this banana bread contest (the winner get a $50 Sur La Table gift card)!!

    http://thenewstayathomemom.com/moist-banana-bread-recipe-contest

    blessings,

    Shauna

  6. Delicious!

  7. it looks delicious!i cant wait to try the recipe1

  8. I tried this recipe. I’m a little disapointed….Doesn’t taste any diferent then my usual banana bread. Thanks anyway!

  9. Everyone that had a piece, loved it – we even made mini muffins. It was so easy to make too. Will definately make it again!

  10. I would like to see any updated recipes..thanks so very much..

  11. This reminds me of lunch accept, lunch sucked

  12. I replaced the vegetable oil with apple sauce. It was delicious!

Leave a comment