Egg Bake

Egg Bake Before

My egg bake was a success this morning! I thought it was so good that I ate it again for lupper (my late lunch). Enjoy this recipe and don’t be afraid to make it your own, by adding your preferred mix-ins (potatoes, veggies, different meats).

When I was preparing my egg bake last night, I used a loaf of crusty French bread that was several days old. When I bought it at the store, it was already a day old, and I think I purchased it last week. It was so hard and crusty that I thought I would need to use a chain saw to cube it up. I managed to get it cubed using a really sharp knife and some muscle power. The bread was so dried out that it absorbed the eggy goodness perfectly. So, if you don’t have any old bread on hand, you could cube up some fresh bread and leave it out on the counter overnight to dry out. Or if you have some leftover croutons, I am sure that would work as well. Plus the croutons would add some extra flavor to the dish.

Bacon & Egg Bake

12 eggs beaten

3 c milk

1 T maple syrup

2 c shredded colby-jack cheese

salt and pepper to taste

1 lb. cooked and crumbled bacon

1/2 loaf day old bread cut into 1 in. cubes

Grease your 9X13 in. pan. Spread your bread cubes in a single layer in the bottom of the pan (it may require more or less bread to cover your pan). Place bacon crumbles on top of the bread. Even spread the cheese over the bread and bacon. Beat eggs, milk, salt and pepper, and maple syrup together. Pour over the bread mixture. Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour, preferably overnight. In the morning preheat your over to 350 degrees, bake uncovered for 50-60 minutes, or until a knife stuck in the middle comes out clean. ENJOY!

Egg Bake After

7 Responses

  1. This egg bake is delicious!! I used ham and cheese instead of bacon. The texture was perfect–and the hint of maple syrup adds a special homey-ness to the dish. YUM!

  2. jjust made mine tonight… cant wait to eat it for the packer game tomorrow!!!! my favorite1!!!

  3. wow it was simply amazing wasn’t quick but was very easy, delicous.

  4. For hottest news you have to pay a quick visit world wide web and
    on internet I found this web site as a finest site for latest updates.

  5. I do not know if it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing issues with your website.
    It seems like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else
    please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too?

    This may be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Thanks

  6. Wonderful post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this
    subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Appreciate it!

  7. magnificent submit, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector do not notice this.

    You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a comment